I want in! +1st achievement

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roberthathaway7

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
So I'm kind of new to the arborist field. I started up with my first chainsaw, a STIHL 028 haha i know big boy saw right? Anyways I started up cutting firewood off my farm, sticking with storm blown trees and felling simple trees under close supervision of an old veteran. This past winter I systematically had to cut down a 90 foot cottonwood goliath on our place so we could build a new pole barn and land it perfectly to not destroy two other buildings- I did it, and I was hooked. It would take forever to explain how I did it other than saying I started with climbing into the tree, strapping myself in, and cutting down vertical 10-26" diameter branches to distribute the weight of the crown properly, and then plunge cutting the 4ft trunk. I had a bigger saw by this point :greenchainsaw: I literally dropped this tree exactly, as in within 6 inches of where I wanted. I'm not gonna lie, I felt amazing.

Right now I'm 24 years old and trying to finish up college to be a teacher, and I own a property service business including lawn mowing, pressure washing, landscaping, small tree trimming/removal, bush hogging, garden tilling, etc (I also personally sell firewood for winter income). I look forward to being able to pass this business on to my brother in law/partner who is currently wanting to get out of the coal mines, and then working with him in my summer months to pay off those dang student loans. I've always been on my own financially so let me tell you I am racking them up.