Introduction & Seeking input on a dilemma

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LokiMack

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello forum members. I live in central Tx and musta been a lumberjack in a previous life, I really enjoy anything to do with logging. My nickname as a child was Paul Bunyan in line with my initials of PBM. I am a Locomotive Engineer for UPRR in order to pay my bills and buy chains. I get about 8-12 tree removal/clearing jobs per year; plus the firewood/BBQ wood we cut, but am by no means a professional. I grew up around McColluch saws, as that was what the local hardware store sold. I bought my first Stihl in 1993, and have owned 021, 023, & MS311. I am looking forward to learning alot more from the members here.

I have been scouring the forums for about a week now trying to gather as much info as I could. I am in the market for a larger saw. I am looking for a saw to pull a 25-28" bar. I cut Oak, Pecan, Native Aromatic Cedar, Mesquite, Hackberry, and a few other types. I was looking at the MS362 but after reading numerous posts, I started looking for a used (due to price) 044 or 440.

The Dilemma:
While searching, I ran across a MS441 W/20"B&C in very good condition for ~$700. I would probably have the oiler upgraded at a later date, so that cost might need to be figured in. I also looked into a new Husky 372XP (w/whatever B&C I want) for $880 + tax. I am not brand loyal, but I do tend to lean towards Stihl. I have never owned a Husky saw, but I had terrible luck with a Husky weed eater. There is a Husky dealer 10 min East but they are hit or miss on service quality, and theres another about an hour away but they are mainly a retailer. I have 2 GOOD Stihl dealers within 15 min, and 2 more (one is A+) 45 min away.

So would yall suggest the lighlty used 441 for $700 or the new warrantied 372 for $952