Let's talk 1133 Stihls, MS 280/270

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duke Thieroff

Fill your hands, you SOB!
Reaction score
Today I tore into an MS280 that I picked up recently, there are a few things about it that are interested. After reading Stihl's introductory document in MediaCat it appears that at the point in time that they came out they anted to replace their mid-range saws with these specifically.

There are a lot of engineering quirks in these saws that I haven't seen before in Stihl's, not that I'm an expert. If anyone could elaborate on them or offer any experiences with them that would be great. It looks like this series of saw was their first foray into some design changes. Do any of these design characteristics take place on the more modern saws?

Here is the muffler, nothing special, aside from the fact that a part of it actually fits into the exhaust port.

Now here is the ignition coil, which is proprietary to this series of saw, very unlike Stihl. The service bulletin states that this ignition coil has variable timing for easier starting.

Gilardoni Cast Cylinder

Look at this carb!
22.5mm venturi. In comparison a Husqvarna 359 (Walbro HDA199) has a venturi size under 20mm.

The Tank/Rear Handle has a ton of reinforcement webbing in the molding. Seems to be a pretty sturdy unit, seems beefy where the rear part of the handle meets the lower part of the handle as well.

Now this is strange here, the engine housing is cast magnesium, but the left half is made all of plastic. It's almost a hybrid of a vertically split case and a clamshell. It's really split 1/4-3/14. There is no removable engine pan. Instead of a paper gasket between the case halves it is a rubber o-ring, the only thing it seals is the oil tank.