Looking for a saw for my teenage Son

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karl Robbers

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I am looking for a saw for my teenage son. He is 14 and not a small weedy boy, but he does have trouble starting my saws, mainly technique related, but I really would like to get him up and running with a saw to boost his confidence while his technique develops. I am thinking that something in the 30-40cc range would be appropriate sseing as limbwood up to maybe 8" will be the saws fodder. A decompressor or some other starting aid will be required. Weight is also a factor I guess and I am thinking that a rear handle saw may be safer and more controllable.
I do have a preference for Husqvarna, but would be prepared to consider other brands. I like the concept of the Stihl easy start system although I have no personal experience with it.
Non negotiables are that the saw MUST have a good chain brake and a good Anti Vibe system. I would like it to be a land owner class saw, although a good homeowner saw would probably do the job. I am thinking perhaps a 340 Husky may be a good option, (the 435 doesn't have a decompressor as I understand it, but does have "smart start" - how much that will reduce starting effort I do not know). The MS 180C also crossed my mind.
I have never really considered starting effort before in a saw.
I'll open the floor now, what say you people?