Maple tree help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vincent

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello community,

as a German, we do not have maple sirup :( - ok, you can buy it in some stores, but I decided I want my own sirup.

So, we have this tree in our garden, for sure it is a maple tree, but is it a "Acer saccharum"?

img6590xj6.jpg

img6589cz0.jpg

img6585or1.jpg

In case and got the right tree, we would need help on how to get the water/sirup (sorry I dont know the right word) out of the tree. Any help and ideas are appreciated.

Thanks in advance und best regards,

Vincent

Looks like it is, but I will let someone with more expertise say for sure.

I think you can get a spout that will screw into the trunk and allow the sap to pour out.

Someone here will be able to tell you better.

Vincent,

I'm not a professional arborist, just a hobbyist, but I do not think that tree is Acer saccharum. It appears to be Acer planatoides or 'Spitzahorn' in German.

http://www.garten.cz/e/en/27-norway-maple-acer-platanoides

I believe that Acer saccharum is indigenous to Northeastern North America and that is does not occur naturally in Europe.

Last edited:
I'm also pretty sure the tree is not sugar maple, from the pictures I would say red maple. Sugar maples have very pointed buds, almost sharp. Other maples generally have more rounded buds.

It's not sugar maple. Close but not quite the same.

Besides, one tree couldn't produce enough sap to make more than a few ml of syrup when fully boiled down.

Do you get the right freeze thaw cycles in germany, in the spring to make syrup?

There are other types of tree that can be tapped to produce syruyp. I know birches are tapped in Alaska.

Es tut mir leid, das is nicht eine acer saccharum.

So, was ist das? Ich weiss nicht.

And that is all the Deutsch that ich weiss.

Viel gluck.