Muffler Bolt issues with my Poulan PP295

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trout 2003

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
The Poulan PP295 I use for limbing will not run for more then a couple seconds right now before shutting off and I am trying to get to the spark arrester to clean it but can't for the life of me get one of the muffler bolts out. I got one but can't get the other. Before I go buy a serious torque driver I wanted to be sure that I wasn't trying to remove something that can't be removed. The poulan manuals aren't the best and I am new at this "at home maintenance" of my saws. The bolt is super crazy tight though so I am afraid I am going to snap it off once I get enough leverage with the right touqer. Any suggestions for making this easier or anyone have a similar experience??????

I've got the type 3 and the bolt closest to the chain in the one that is currently stuck.

So it is the one down inside the muffler?

Take off all plastics that you can remove and CAREFULLY heat the cylinder boss where the bolt screws in........use the smallest torch you can find, beg, borrow etc

Then when it is hot you can spray some penetrating oil with the extension tube into the tube in the muffler where the bolt is and behind the muffler between the muffler and the cylinder.

PB Blaster works pretty well but BE CAREFUL......the stuff can ignite pretty easily at high temps and it will make you hairless in an instant.

Do it outside and keep your body away from it.

Once you get the bolt to start to turn....work it back and forth a bit

IE loosen it until it starts to get hard to turn then retighten then loosen rinse and repeat (add penetrant in the muffler bolt hole)