New compression tester from Baileys.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrassGuerilla

Olympic Piss-reving wanna be.
Reaction score
I'm pretty excited about getting my new compression tester. The automotive style tester I was using was giving me shaky results at best. Small displacement engines all tested rather low. In terms of quality the baileys (actually Trisco) is kinda cheesy. The dial glass is plastic, and seems to fall off, along with the bezel, pretty easy. It does however seem to work as it should. If I worked on small engines for a living, I'd want something better made. For a pro-Sumer hobbyist type, I'm hopeful it will be fine.

Now it's time for me to learn to better interpret the results. I was relieved that some recent aquisitions seem healthy. At least one, is more borderline. At 160+psi cold my Homelite 550 seems to be in fine shape. Similar results for my 046.

My 026 on the other hand is right about 140psi cold. Pulling the muffler reveals some slightly polished looking areas on the piston. Not really scratches, can't feel an edge at all. This saw was a recent find, and needs a carb kit at minimum. At 140 cold, should I put a carb kit in and run her, or re-ring it, or?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 75
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 68
That's pretty low for that saw. Here's my MS260 that I just sold...
image-jpg.357312

And here's the 026 that I got for my FIL...
image.jpg

I got mine for $5 at a yard sale. Never used, receipt in the box ($39.95 at local auto parts store).

I like to test all my saws... :D

036 Pro (Sold! :()
image.jpg

Dolmar 7900...
image.jpg

Jonsered 2171 w/ new Meteor piston and base gasket removed...
image.jpg