New guy needs a chain.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

biggerstaff94

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Howdy all, im Kevin, im not an arborist, im a machinist from the NE corner of Indiana. I have a couple saws for harvesting firewood, but ive also got a couple saws i just find cool that i dont use much but are ready to go. Anyway i picked up a MAC 110 because it looked cool and was $10 at a garage sale. Plus top handles are handy once in a while.

Today i took it all apart, cleaned it up, ran the carb through the ultrasonic, and threw it back together.
72E6678C-1AF1-4D4D-9CC9-D9B98E2BB7C8.jpeg

8616A0CF-4DC4-4578-A623-B1C68C6A4CEE.jpeg

Anyway, my problem is, it didnt have a chain. Im seeing some things that say its a 1/4 pitch, some things saying 3/8 pitch, i didn’t even think to look at the sprocket while it was apart. Its got the original 10” McCulloch bar and its in great shape so im going to run that. Can anyone give me an Oregon PN for a chain that works with this?

Welcome to A.S.!

Some saws came with one size chain, but get changed to another over time.

Clear photos of the current chain, along with any markings would help. *(Oops! Just re-read your post and realize you don’t have a chain).

‘Pitch’ is measured as the distance between the center point of any 3 rivets, divided by 2. As a machinist, this may make sense to you.

1/4” pitch = 0.25”. But 3/8” pitch = 0.365”, because it is nominal.

‘Gauge’ is the thickness of the drive links at the bottom. There may be some wear, but typically gauges are: 0.043”, 0.050”, 0.058”, and 0.063”.

Pitch, gauge, and the number of drive links determine if a chain will fit your saw.

*Since you don’t have an existing chain, an easy thing to do is take the saw to a good saw shop, and buy your first chain from them. They will set you up with the right size.

Philbert