Poulan 3400 broken bearing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wmswilson1

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Ok, I am a amateur. I saw this craigslist ad ( http://atlanta.craigslist.org/tls/1016445092.html ) and it seemed like a pretty good price. I asked the guy about the broken bearing and his reply was: "i was opening the chainsaw to clean it and when i wanted to put it together i broke one of the bearing and that is why i did not close it back up." Does that make much sense, can I still get a replacement bearing? should I even mess with this one?

Thanks

Willing to bet its the clutch bearing he broke.

Agree it probably is the bearing that fits on the crankshaft (clutch side) and the sprocket slips over it. Can pick them up easily. Could also be that the clutch fell apart. Doubt its the crank bearing as he'd have to split the case and I'm not sure he could break it anyway.

Is that a hard fix and about how much?

If its simply the sprocket bearing its as simple as pulling off the clutch and sprocket and replacing the bearing. The clutch has a left handed thread ( I think thats how its decribed)that you turn clockwise to loosen. You then remove the sprocket, slip the bearing over the crankshaft. Then just reassemble. If the clutch fell apart and nothing is broken you can push the spring over the clutch shoes to reassemble it. If its broken you'll need a new, probably used one, which you can find on Ebay. Don't know cost but bet it would be $20-$25.00. If its the crank bearing(cost about $6-$8) a little work is involved. Find out what he's referring to as a "broken bearing" and hope its not the crank bearing. I don't think it is as there would be no reason to split case when cleaning saw.