Question about SRT

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
ICS is the manufacturer, you don't want the QTY they want to sell;)

Yates gear sells ICS and DMM.

Maybe i'll go this direction

dblbungie.gif
climber1.gif

I've been perfecting SRT for arbos for several years. The system that I've come up with now seems to cover all of the bases. Compact, has backups, climber can be rescued while on the system. All of the techniques that are discussed here have limitations that I've worked through on my journey.

The Mini Traxion is not a good choice for personal support. The MT isn't rated over 5k#. If you like the function, you need to use the Maxi Traxion.

If you find that grabbing the rope is hard I think that you might have the lanyard that attaches the saddle to the upper ascender is too long. When you sit in your saddle and reach up to push the upper, the bottom of your hand should be somewhere near your eyebrows and the top of your head. If you reach above the top of your head you are doing chin ups and working harder than necessary.

On Rope 1,http://onrope1.com/index.html
makes a tool called the Adjustable lanyard, part number F0401. This is a nice tool to use as a lanyard for your upper. You can tweak the length to perfection.

Here is the link to Yates in California:

http://www.yatesgear.com/

Tom

i asked a few buddies about the AM demo and they say you are write again TD. Though they climbed on a doubled line as one with MarBar etc., and did some work on backup knots for other types of acsension on it FootLocking etc., no true, true SRT but intro'd the techniques on a doubled line as one. Such knots would grab more positively on the 'thicker' line.

The not having the friction hitches near the cams (as well as shirts, hair etc.) etc. is an oft overlooked one. i always look to a knot tender or hand shoving the hitch up.