Questions from a new guy - 034 and 455 Rancher

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skinny

Reaction score
Been reading here for a while, but first post. Amazing amount of knowledge on this site. I am very new to saws, I can handle them safely, and know my limits. I know nothing (or very little) about upgrading / modifying saws. I spent about 8 hrs yesterday searching and reading everything I could find on this site about 034's, 036's, chains, bars, muffler mods, etc. I think i am even more confused now than when I started.

So two years ago, I bought an acreage on the side of a mountain in south-eastern BC. Its about an acre of lawn/yard, and 7 of forest. We have a wood stove in the house that we use as our primary heat source (secondary if the insurance company is asking). To feed the stove, I bought a new 455 Rancher, which was my first saw, and in my opinion, ran pretty good. The 20" bar is pretty short for the trees around me. I recently bought a Granberg small mill to make myself some lumber, and the 455 tends to bog down pretty bad on anything over 16" diameter.

Yesterday I picked up 034, sight unseen, for what I think was a steal of a price. The thing starts easier than my 455, and cuts pretty decent. It looks like the bar is what came with it originally, and appears completely worn out. The sprocket is pretty worn too, the air filter was caked with dust, and the brake has been removed. The filter cleaned up nice, but the rest needs to be replaced.

My questions are, first, which saw should I use for the mill and which for cutting/bucking? If using the 034 for cutting, what is the max bar length I should run on that saw? Would dropping from a 7 tooth to a 6 tooth sprocket help? And while I am at it, would putting on a P&C from a 036 be worth it ($55 off Ebay)?