saw stutters and lost power

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sven556

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have been rebuilding a stihl 041 av and finally put it into some wood today. I ran it in some old 12" cottonwood for half a dozen cuts, nothing to really stress it! Then, I went back to work cutting some osage orange fence posts. So, this was all small hardwood, only up to about 8 inches. after about 5- 10 minutes of that the saw started to stutter, lost power, and popped a few times (almost like a backfire?). Any ideas what could be the issue?

A little background here. I am new to adjusting carbs. I hadn't got the idle of the saw set just right, but I think the high side was set good. have a tachometer coming in the mail, but after I ordered it I realized I'm not sure how to use it on a saw. It uses reflective tape to detect the rotation. Should I put the tape on the clutch, without a bar and chain?

It does have an SEM ignition module. It seems to start decent. Usually a few pulls even after it starts sputtering.

I have been wondering if the timing is off, but if it runs good for the first 10 minutes, than could it be the timing?

I'd say carb kit, check gas line/filter. Timing would make it never run right I'd think

-•------------------------------------------------------------

Just a home owner that likes the older better made machines

Craftsman 3.7 x2
Husqvarna 36

I put in a new carb kit and fuel line/filter. I'll check them again though, just to be sure. How would the carb/gas line/filter act up after 5-10 minutes?

Is the carb adjusted while eng is hot?

-•------------------------------------------------------------

Just a home owner that likes the older better made machines

Craftsman 3.7 x2
Husqvarna 36