Saw will only cut about 3"-4" into a tree (sideways)

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1turf

Reaction score
Hey all, I am a noobe to this site and I am looking for a little info that may help me out.

Let me start by saying I have been cutting trees for over 25 years now so I do have experience in trimming, felling and hurricane cleanup (Katrina).

I have a Stihl Chainsaw that will cut fine straight up and down but if you turn it over on its side to cut a pie it will only cut into the tree about 3"-4" before it seems to stop cutting anything in the heart of the tree. The bar is a 26" I believe but I have a 44" for flush cutting stumps also. the larger blade work well for the first 1-15 stumps but it started doing the same thing that the shorter one now does. We have sharpend the chain and checked the adjustments on the saw but nothing I have tried short of a new bar and chain has helped. I thought that maybe someone with more experience then myself could shed some light on this problem for me. Thanks in advance.

Randy

I have had this happen. I had a chain that I sharpened so far back that it made the kerf too thin in conjuction with a slightly worn bar. I would get a new bar and chain, or see if your local shop has a rail closer to repair your old bars.

Yep, that sounds like what is happening. Going through the same thing with an old Poulan 3700 right now. I checked the rails on the bar, looks like the .050 bar would take a .063 chain easily! Also, grind or file the burr on the bar.

If bar and chain prob. explain why it cuts up and down but not sideways?:confused:

You ever hear of Gravity? The chain rides in the bar groove which is worn out or the wrong size example - .063 bar and .050 chain. Going up and down the chain is fine, on its side the chain is laying over and not at the proper angle to cut.