SCARY SCARY SCARY... Chimney Fire

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dale

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Well, I've been burning for many years. I burn good, well-seasoned hardwoods, so I always took pride about having to clean the pipes 1 time at the beginning of the burn season. Well, that will change. Friday night,my son asked if he could toss a small box into the woodburner where I had a nice hot fire going. I told him yes. Box was a puzzle box, maybe 10-11" wide and 2" thick. Of course it caught right away in a bluster of flames and that was it so I thought. 5-10 minutes later, as I'm watching TV, I notice the single-wall pipe where it enters the thimble in the wall glowing red. I thought it was a reflection off the glass-front stove, but realized I've never seen that before, so I went over to inspect. Well, as I got closer, I heard the roar going up the chimney. I shut air-flow immediately, and ran outside. It was a scary sight looking up at my chimney cap, seeing it glowing red, and creosote dripping out. Luckily, because the rear of my house is half underground, I can get to the roof with a 12' step-ladder. I quickly hooked a 90' hose to the hosebib, ran around the house, and up the ladder and roof I went. A quick douse of the roof immediately around the chimney, then I sprayed the cap, knocked it off, and sprayed down the chimney. That was enough to knock it down. I ran back into the basement to inspect. The fire in the box was still going strong, so I sprayed it out best I could, then shoveled the hot coals/wood out and into my bucket to be carried outside. My house is entirely cedar wood-sided, and it would have been ugly if it would have caught.