Snow Fence - wood or plastic

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winland

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have never used a snow fence before, but I am considering putting one up along the west side of my 130' driveway.
In checking local prices, 4' x 50' of wood fence is about $40. The orange plastic fence 4' x 100' is also about $35

Planning on using metal T-posts to install.

Do you have a preference for wood or plastic fence?

Will one or the other last longer, over the years?

When installing, should I leave a 6" gap between the ground and the bottom of the fence?
Or leave no gap between the fence and ground?

Plastic is easier, wood looks better. Pending upon how much wind you get, they should last about the same amount of time. If you get a lot of wind, or a ton of snow, then leave a gap at the bottom (for plastic). The wood fence should be fine with no gap.

Go with the wood, deer will run right through the plastic. What are you using it for?

It will be a "snow" fence. Put it up later this month and take it down in late March, probably.

I have heard from several "old wives" that it is going to be a cold/snow winter in our area.

Trying to lessen the snow drifting that happens on the east side of my driveway.
Driveway runs North/South

Probably important to determine which side of the driveway to install the fence. If you live in a snow belt, ask the Highway Department guys which side of the road they install the fence. NE Ohio used to use miles of the stuff and it did work. I'd go with wood as I have a feeling it will last many more years than the plastic.