Starting a logging business

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjohnson1

Reaction score
Hell all I am new at this.....my first post. Just wondering if anyone has any helpful information on getting started in a logging business. One of my five uncles owned and operated one, but died of a heart attack at 50. Well I miss the woods my remaining four uncles agreed to help me. As far as money I will be receiving a settlement soon from a automobile accident.......so now i guess i just post away and let your helpful hints/tips or opinions flow.........thanks

Well...logging can be done these days rather efficiently. If I were to give you any advice I would say to start with the end user. You need to have buyers for your logs. Maybe consider setting up a mill of some design and then plan to prepare your logs for market. If you are thinking more the fine details to get them logs there out of the woods...then by all means look for a good crew right straight off. Your going to need someone to count on, and yes a kickin saw too. I personally can say that if your not gettin the sort of advice you want, try persistance in everything you do. See ya around and welcome to Arboristsite, here we care for the survivors of the once heavily populated Forest.

It's all pretty simple if you know the #'s and especially the wood as far as grade and it's value on the stump and the mill.
Log buyers and mills are always on the lookout for stupid loggers as we've all been there. when we first started up.
Knowing how to cut logs for grade and yeild is all important. The money is made on the landing. Stay away from second and third party log buyers and especially ones who want to buy sawlogs in max merchantable length.
Just buy yourself a small skidder and know the prices before you start cutting unless the timber was free. Lol