Starting a stump grinding business. New vs used? If new 25hp or 35hp?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dontbthatguy

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Quick background, I am a career firefighter in CT and work part time as a ground guy for a tree co. The tree co is owned by a guy I work with. He subs out his grinding jobs so I figured it is time to start a business of my own and grind away (he told me he would give me the jobs.)

I figure I can spend time each week lining up jobs, and grind one or two days on my off days from the fire department.

I have been going to the local dealers (vermeer and rayco/bandit) looking at equipment. I have around $10,000 to invest into the business.

There isn't much that I can find as far as a used machine goes. They all seem to be out of state and I don't want to take a gamble on a used machine with out seeing it in person. If I go used, I would like to go with a larger at least 35hp machine. Do you guys recommend going used? Or should I go new? And am I missing something, or are there more used machines out there? Any help finding them would be great!

New is pricy obviously. If I go new, I really shouldn't go more than a 25hp machine due to leveraging too much of the business. Will a 25 hp machine be enough to start a decent grinding business? Any tips with buying a new machine?

Any general insight on the subject would be much appreciated. Thanks guys!

-Anthony

I use to rent small grinders. Best one was a 35 hp bandit with green teeth. I also owned. A dosko. Great machine. Untill the engine when, which was my falt. Keep an eye on that oil.
If you can find a 60+ hp machine you will be better of, and save a hole lot of time and effort. Try looking at some rental places, they sell old equipment to get new.