STIHL 193t vs Husky 435

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

katoom400

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm in the market for a small chainsaw to handle trial clearing for dirt bike trails. not looking for anything large since it will need to be mounted to the front of my dirt bike.

Trailtech makes a slick bike mount but it is specific to the 192T, which has now been replaced by the 193t, I'm assuming they designed the mount to work with the 192t because of it's light weight (7lbs)

I've also seen a husky 435 rear handle (reconditioned) on northern tool for just $179 but not familiar with this saw either.

if I go with the 193t and the trailtech mount, I'm looking at $550

if I go with the husky and a more generic mount I'm looking at ~ $300, but most likely a heavier combination.

I have no chainsaw experience, so I'm not familiar with either.... for larger trees one of the guys has a quad he uses to carry a STIHL 026, so I'm fine with the "little" saws for the dirt bike.

yes it is, that's why I'm looking at the 192...now 193T. I've seen some bad reviews for the 193t in comparrison to the older 192t so I'm a little hesitant to go get one. the 201t seems to be the saw of choice for the professional, but I don't know if will fit the mount and I don't think I need to spend $650 on a saw I'm going use occasionally at best.

although if I "cheap out" and get the refub Husky 435 and this mount I'm only in for $300 combinded saw and mount....but it's not as "slick" as the trail-tech mount. and I know nothing of the Husky

http://razorback-offroad.com/rbo-versarack.html

If you have no chainsaw experience I couldn't suggest strongly enough that you choose a rear handle (or traditional type) chainsaw rather than a top handle (like a 192/193/201).