Stihl MS 151 or 201, Top or Rear Handle

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DAP525

Reaction score
Hello All!

I am not a professional arborist, so I appreciate the opportunity to ask for recommendations in this forum.

I am looking for a lightweight chainsaw for trimming trees and limbs. No climbing, but occasionally cutting on a ladder. I’ve narrowed my search to the Stihl MS 151 or the 201 . I have a larger Stihl MS 251 ( I think).

In the Stihl MS 151, I’m unsure if I should buy a top handle or rear handle unit. What are the pros and cons and what do you recommend? Thank you!!

I agree so far, if you go with a chainsaw, go with a rear handle. Personally, I really like the MS 171 for the small Stihl saws, really good price range for what you get (looks to be about $400 cheaper than the 151).

Also as noted above, please do not use a chainsaw while on a ladder, you can find many examples on YouTube of people who have tried it and found out why it is a bad idea.

If you do choose the MS 151, let us know what you think of it after using it, I would like to hear the feedback.

Hello All!

I am not a professional arborist, so I appreciate the opportunity to ask for recommendations in this forum.

I am looking for a lightweight chainsaw for trimming trees and limbs. No climbing, but occasionally cutting on a ladder. I’ve narrowed my search to the Stihl MS 151 or the 201 . I have a larger Stihl MS 251 ( I think).

In the Stihl MS 151, I’m unsure if I should buy a top handle or rear handle unit. What are the pros and cons and what do you recommend? Thank you!!
Ok, so as already mentioned, using a saw and ladder is not a good idea, at all.
if you do use a ladder, please tie the ladder in, and use a lanyard and harness to secure yourself, etc etc etc.
but dont use a ladder and a chainsaw, get a good silky hayauchi in 6m extendable pole saw, they are lovely.