What is the big concern with Stihl vibration levels?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sILlogger

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
maybe it is just me...but i have put several thousand hours on saws. both husky (372,385,394,395) and stihls (044,046,066&and the newer MS version) and i don't know what all the hype is about stihls having such high vibration levels. I honestly don't notice any difference in the vibration between the two. I used to think that huskies were just ever so slightly smoother...but i have ran more of them lately, and i must say that i don't realy think one is any smoother than the other. Is it just that i run these saws for a living and don't have a choice? I don't know what it is. but i personally believe that the people that whine and cry about how much stihl saws vibrate need to man up and quit being a bunch of skirt wearing nancies. the old timers saws vibrated alot more than now.......o thats right tho...they were MEN!!

Last edited:
I run alot of Huskies and Stihls side by side. There is no doubt in my mind that the huskies are extremely smooth saws when compared to the Stihls. I have not ran the newer 441, or 361 with the good AV, so I can't comment on those.
A steel plate with 6 screws in my right forearm are also a big reason I lean toward the Huskies and a big reason I'm a "NANCY" you might say....the vibrations are felt 10x in my right arm compared to my left :(

Last edited:
me having the nickname "Popeye" and bear claws for hands might have something to do with my lack of concern with vibration levels.

I never had a problem with vibes either but that 441 is smooth, I might not cut enough but Stihl is always my choice. I will take a few vibes in favor of the #1 brand of saw made.:D