What kind of wood is this?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CajunBoy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Picked up a truck load of wood today from local tree removal service. Please help me with identifying this wood and how will it be to split and burn?

Thanks for all the help i'm pretty new to this but i love it.

I will guess red maple. Burns ok. Somewhere about in the middle of the scale.

Edit:
TreePointer beat me to it. Good guess I might add. Hope your right. Haha!

Last edited:
Looks like maple to me too. Been down and/or dead a while from bark appearance and separation

Just a suggestion from looking at first pic

I try and cut limbs off as close and parallel to trunk as possible

Same effort, and don't have those those pesky lil "nubbies" that are in pic get to be a PITA when splittin, stackin, and burnin

Works 4 me

Best regards

Alright thanks guys... come to think about I should have recognized it being maple from the little buds on the branches

What, you say? A Beech to split? Then it aint maple. Bring a couple pieces over here and lets see what you've got.

All of our maple is currently seeded out. Unmistakable bright red seeds on almost every twig. Plenty of opportunity to compare what you have to the live ones in the swamp.

Beech is my bet. I've split a good bit of Maple, and even the knotty pieces were comparatively easy to work. Knotty, Nasty Old Beech is, well, you said it, as far as splitting.

It is good firewood though. Only a little less than Hickory for BTU/cord.

Last edited: