Where do I go from here?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scoutillac

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I think I need a more friendly saw for cutting small branches ect. I have a MS361 and absolutely love it. The saw pulls the 20" and 25" bar with no problem. I would like to possibly grab a lighter saw with an 18" to 20" bar but the gearhead in me is having a really tough time stepping down in power. My back tells me I need a lighter saw. My saw use is just firewood and yard clean up, I am by no means a pro-woodsman. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Not sure how much you want to spend, but a ported MS261 would be lighter and close to power of the 361.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

I think you would have to go with something smaller than 261, but some how find a way to deal with a power loss... Only because I have a 361 and a 261, and the 361 power head does not weigh much more than a 261 power head...

According to Stihl specs, there's only 0.7 lb difference between the MS361 and MS261 power heads (12.3 vs 11.6), so I'm not sure you'd be solving the weight issue with a 261. A better choice might be a used MS260 or 026 power head, which are listed at 10.6 lbs. Also in the lighter weight category are the Husky 346xp and 550xp saws.

Whatever you do, don't get rid of the 361.

445 husky. You don't need any more saw than that, and it is really light with great anti-vibe. You don't have to tell anybody, and you neighbors will never know its not a "pro saw"
They're also inexpensive

If your running a 20" on the 361, I'd go with an 026 with a 16", or a ported 200T with a 12" is freakin awesome. A 200T with a 12" balances perfectly, light, amazing power and is great for the tops. You can one hand it and toss limbs with the other.