Why some men don't know how to do anything

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I read that stupid article, in all honesty it was worthless. If you dont already know how to do the things listed, then that article gave you just enough information to get you in trouble.
I was an EMT back home with a volunteer fire department, and the idea that you can learn CPR from a magazine article is ridiculous. Sure, they guy or gal maybe already dead, but performing CPR without the proper certification can get you sued in many states. With that article they gave you just enough information to accertain that you would put the victim beyond any help once real help arrived, IE broken ribs driven into the lungs, crushed stermum, etc.

Most of the time people - men or women - don't learn something until they have to, unless its something they are really interested in. We had water wells for 30 years and if you wanted any water you had to learn how to diagnose the problem. I got turned into an expert well fighter. Nothing made me draw up like my wife saying "Honey, we don't have any water." :cry:

It used to be easier with cars before the computer/electronics age hit, but there is still a lot of stuff you can fix yourself. It's amazing how many things you can learn how to do by a combination of ways. Some things, like the EMT procedures, you would have to have expert training in order not to hurt someone.

As far as mechanical stuff goes a person with a size four cap and a size 19 collar can learn how to fix of build just about anything at all - look at me (my cap size is a little smaller)

I can do most of the things on there...but I bet my wife could tell me how to do all of them better!:givebeer: :givebeer:

i noticed one of the things said "tape drywall".