Wood Pole Building - How to?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

retoid

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello,
I am fairly new to milling but my interest in milling is growing day by day.
I currently have a 36" Alaskan Mill and a Husky 2100 CD with a 38" bar for milling.

My question is to you carpenters/woodworkers. I plan on building a wood pole building for shelter from the rain for several reasons, mainly to mill while it rains. I have an area of 25' Wide x 50' Long to build this structure.
I do not have thousands of dollars to go spend on brand new materials. So I was wondering which wood and materials are suitable for what I have planned.

Below is an image of something like what I had planned on building.
Many have told me to just use 4x6 pressure treated posts but I was curious if there is another wood, like Maple which I have access to mill that would work if treated? And would it possible cost less?

Any tips to building something like this would really help. I am here to learn and build this thing by the end of summer.
I live in the Northwest where we get alot of rain, snow and wind.

how-to-build-a-pole-barn.jpg

Thanks

Last edited:
google the university of tn agricultural extension...they have a bunch of building plans..

i'm gonna build one later this year for my mill, gonna set 10" cypress trunks in
concrete footers and use some 2x10 i just got done sawing for headers..roof frame on top..not as big as what you are talking about tho'