woodmaster problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mmchris

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi, I have a woodmaster 5500 and I having a hard time keeping it 170 degrees, I use hard maple for firewood and heating two buildings with it, anybody know of any problems i could be having, thanks

Not trying to be the master of the obvious here but one of two things, your either not producing BTUs or are using a bunch of them and no way for anyone to tell by your brief discription. The fan draft boilers I have been around including my Woodmaster 4400 will come up to high limit from low limit very, say 160 to 170, very quickly, I have never timed it but maybe 10 minutes even if both of by heat exchangers are calling for heat while it is firing, I am heating two buildings also. If mine had the draft running continuously as yours must be it would be burning an astronomical amount of wood, are you burning a lot of wood? Pull the cover off of the draft assembly on the door and see if the flapper is opening when the fan comes on, I'll bet it isnt opening for some reason.

Butch...Yes I'm burning alot of wood...I say cord to cord and half a week, thanks for the suggestion, I check that out in the morning, Thanks MaRK

What type of ground piping did you use and how was it installed. I have heard of horror stories of the ground pipe becoming surrounded by ground water and you would now be trying to heat the earth. What is the size and type of buildings you are heating? Having a draft that stayed open would make your system boil over. It sounds like you are losing heat somewhere. What is you shut off point set at?

puck

Is this a new system?

if it is not new, Has it ever performed well?
There is no doubt you are getting enough air, considering the forest you have burned in it over the past week.LOL