3120xp vs 880 Magnum???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tgerloff92

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
In another thread I mentioned I had my 395 out today. To be honest I don't have a bar to really test it to the max, but even a 36" bar is a bit small at times. So I've begun seriously thinking about BIGGER bars and with that the necessity of a bigger saw. As I have said I have a 395xp and Mastermind has my 660 currently. I believe that the 3120 does not come stock with a high speed carb adjustment? It also comes with a limited coil? As does the 880? Does the 880 have a HS adjustment? Which one is easier to work on? I believe they both have different bar mounts than the smaller saws that i have of each brand? Let me know if I'm missing any of the big items.

being nonpartisan stihls and husky's i'd like to see them go head to head... but like every other stihl V. husky debate interesting to say the least :popcorn::popcorn:

Not trying to start a war just wanted factual info and advice. Either saw will prolly be sent off to be ported so warranty's don't really matter.

Save yourself a grand or so and get a big inch McCulloch like a 797, CP125 or SP125.

I've always had my eyes peeled for an SP125, but they're hard to find in usable condition.

Compared to a ported 660, or 395 the 880's and 3120 are over weight, over priced, slow cutting pigs.
The 880, and 3120 only have 3 uses as a chainsaw mill, a hotsaw and as a stump saw for tree removal.
In every other application they will be out cut by a ported 395 or 660.

I've owned a couple 088's 084's and 3120's, and they suck stock, they suck to carry, they cut slow, they are pigs.

Your ported 90cc's saw will make a 880 or 3120 look really bad.

At over 1600$ new they're a huge waste of money.

The 3120 is probably the easiest chainsaw to work ever produced, if you can't completely