346xp vs. Echo CS-520

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

merr6267

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have been curious how these saws compared to each other since I acquired the Echo. I bought the 346 brand new in 2012 and found got the echo in an online auction paired with a Jonsered 670.

For the record, I am no expert and I have never done any cookie cutting before.

Both of these saws are stock with only a mild muffler mod and re-tune.
Both saws are running the exact same bar and chain. For test #1 I used .325 semi chisel. The wood is freshly cut pine, although I do not know the variety. It was a Christmas tree farm 40 years ago.

Test #2 was with .325 round filed full chisel.

Both chains had a few cuts prior to the video recording to minimize any differences due to the freshness of the sharpening.

Like I said, I was just curious how they compared.

Take care,
Phill

Nice showing on both saws. 346 sounded more urgent, high strung. The 520 seemed like there was more torque. Is the 520 a two ring saw?

Good videos for your first cookie cutting you tube!

Nice showing on both saws. 346 sounded more urgent, high strung. The 520 seemed like there was more torque. Is the 520 a two ring saw?

Good videos for your first cookie cutting you tube!

I do not remember for sure about the rings in the 520 although I think it has 2 rings.

I agree about the 346 being more high strung.
I have arrived at running 3/8 chain on a pro - lite 16" bar with a 7 pin rim on the 346 and using it for limping when I gather firewood. The 520 keeps the bar from the video and rides along on my tractor while I mess around in the yard.

I found it to really march through dry locust with semi-chisel chain