Arborjet

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

expertech

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Going after my pesticide license to expand my biz and I need some input. Have any of you used the Arborjet injection system? Thinking about using it.

Disclaimer: any discussion below is NOT to be taken as expert pesticide use or application advice!

I have been offering chemical treatments for about two years for control of aphid, shoot moth, scale, bark beetles, as well as oak anthracnose and various leaf diseases. I only use systemics, except for low toxicity (potassium bicarbonate plus sticker) foliar treatments for downy mildew (10 gal truck mounted tank and electric pump for that). I just don't feel comfortable aerial spraying insecticides.

I bought a "Direct Inject" system that micro-injects 1 -2 ml at a time, spaced around the base of the tree every 4 in. or so. Works well, probably better for younger trees with thinner bark and lower crowns. Link:

ArborSystems Wedgle Direct-Inject Tree Injection System - YouTube

(note -- this is not an ad, I get nothing from posting this link).

I use a back-pack sprayer to apply through-the-bark systemics on bigger trees with some apparent success; for example Agri-Fos plus Pentrabark for oak anthracnose and verticillium, wilt.

I believe that the system you are considering is used, for example, to get large volumes of fungicide and insecticide into big elms with dutch elm disease.

Also, you want to consider keeping a lot of notes (some are required by law) so that you can figure out how effective your treatments are; every application should be considered as part of an experiment in which you need to do follow-up monitoring. At least that is where I am headed so that I can be more confident that what I am doing is actually effective.