ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


Compression Release Valve?

Discussion in 'Chainsaw' started by drgnarr, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. drgnarr

    drgnarr ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    I am about to put a new p&c in my husky 50 special but the new cylinder is tapped for a compression release valve. The oem that came out of the saw did not have one.
    Do I need it or can I plug it? If I plug it do I need to put a rubber washer on to seal it, or just a bolt?
    Will it fit under the top cover if it never had one?
    What is the advantage of having one or not?
    Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. valekbrothers

    valekbrothers ArboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Southern Minnesota
    On a 50cc saw you will not need the decomp valve. They are nice on larger saws. Keeps you from ripping your fingers off when trying to start them.
    I don't know what you need to plug it, someone should be along soon to fill you in on all the do's and don'ts.....
     
  3. husky455rancher

    husky455rancher Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    connecticut
    i would like to plug the one on my 346 too. id also beinterested in the correct way to do this.
     
  4. drgnarr

    drgnarr ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Come on Guys, a little help over here!

    Thank you
     
  5. Justsaws

    Justsaws Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    Location:
    Zanesville Ohio
    You can get a plug that looks like a short bolt with a washer on it. I get mine from a Stihl dealer, usually they come with new cylinder kits.

    There are not many saws that actually need decomp., it is typically the user that requires it on the saw.
     
  6. 7sleeper

    7sleeper Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5,350
    Likes Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Austria
    I got my Makita/Dolmar 5001(50cc) extra with a decomp. My primary intention was if my wife needs it it will be easier for her. Funny what happened was I got a severe shoulder problem in December that took until 2 weeks ago to completly heal. That decomp really helped!!! Picking up the saw was no problem but ripping on the cord was so painful i couldn't use my arm for the next half hour!

    I don't want to miss my decomp!

    7sleeper
     
  7. firebox40dash5

    firebox40dash5 ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    OR
    The Stihl pn is 1122 025 2200 for the proper plug/gasket, or 1128 020 9400 for the decompression valve.

    I don't know where on the jug Jusky puts theirs, I've seen some Huskies with them on the side, so they don't need a hole in the shroud like most do. If that's the case, I'd certainly put one on... not needed, but it wouldn't hurt anything.

    I suppose I should note that those might not fit a Husquvarna, especially if the hole isn't located right at the top of the jug... but I don't have any Huskies, and therefore don't have an IPL for one handy!
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  8. drgnarr

    drgnarr ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Home depot?

    for a plug.........Can i just get a bolt and washer that fits from home depot or lowes or do I need something special. I imagine I would need a lock washer also. Bolt, lock washer, & washer?????? What should I plug it with?
     
  9. drgnarr

    drgnarr ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Plug sealed?

    With whatever I plug it with does it need to be completely sealed - - - locktite, rubber washer, etc?
     
  10. drgnarr

    drgnarr ArboristSite Operative

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    still looking for some help

    What do you plug with and how? Or just stick a bolt in and call it quits?
     
  11. MrGiggles

    MrGiggles ArboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Missouri
    I would personally just stick a bolt in it. Just make sure that it doesn't obstruct anything. I would also use Loctite on it to stop it from vibrating loose and to seal it up. The bolt may take up all the volume in the hole and make your compression a bit higher, but I'm not sure on that.

    My 50 Special, although it has lots of hours and is worn out some, is not hard to start with no decomp. You shouldn't need one.
     
  12. edisto

    edisto Spelling/Reality Check

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,562
    Likes Received:
    9,596
    Location:
    SC
    Looks like I'm too late, but I just got a 272 P&C, and from the IPL wasn't expecting a hole for a compression release. I think the Husky releases are the same for most of their saws, and the plugs are too. The same one that fits my 272 fits a 51 and a number of other Huskys.

    The part number is: 5035522-01
     
  13. fredmc

    fredmc Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    I usually use a set screw and some gasket goo on the threads.
     
  14. FATGUY

    FATGUY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,535
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    Originally, ON Canada, now Cincinnati OH
    I've not seen the plugs, and have no intention of ever removing my decomp valves (unless they leak) but I'd imagine the plug has a sealing type washer like you'd find on a sparkplug. If I use the "hold it between my thighs" method to start, then I use the decomp even on my 026, if I drop start I don't use it on any of my saws. I just can't understand why people dislike this wonderful marvel of engineering so much.
    btw if I decided to make my own plug, I'd be apt to use a copper or brass washer, just my .02
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  15. rms61moparman

    rms61moparman Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Franklinton, Ky.
    Personally, I like them real well.
    I guess it has something to do with all the visits from the Itis brothers, Arthur and Bersy.
     
  16. FATGUY

    FATGUY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,535
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    Originally, ON Canada, now Cincinnati OH
    nothing like the starter rope on an 85cc old Homelite biting your hand.....:cry:
    sure wish some of my older saws had 'em
     
  17. rms61moparman

    rms61moparman Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Franklinton, Ky.
    I don't have to worry about that!

    None of my old junks have enough compression to even nibble a little.
     
  18. FATGUY

    FATGUY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,535
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    Originally, ON Canada, now Cincinnati OH
    :censored::censored::censored::bang:
    Mike, my friend, are you forgetting many of us have run those "old junks"?!?!?!?!?!:dizzy:
     
  19. edisto

    edisto Spelling/Reality Check

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,562
    Likes Received:
    9,596
    Location:
    SC
    I get the same thing from my 076...first saw I've run that I don't drop start!
     
  20. FATGUY

    FATGUY Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,535
    Likes Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    Originally, ON Canada, now Cincinnati OH
    I'd love to find a way to retrofit......If there's room, it's not a tough procedure.....
     

Share This Page