Crosscut saws

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

solo

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Just picked up a simonds 503 crosscut. I'm hoping to make a vintage racesaw out of it. Is there anyone else who plays around with crosscut saws on here?

I have/had a bunch, but am on my phone so can't post any pictures. Search member 'ATsawyer' and you should find some good info in his posts. There was one about 6 months ago on sharpening.

Ive been picking up crosscuts for about 3 years now when i see them at yard sales and junk shops.
Got a nice little collection going.
NOS Curtis One man
A couple Disston Two Man
A few Warranteed Superior Two man

Ive been using Household 3 in 1 oil for some light derusting of a few of the blades....
Anyone have better ideas for bringing these blades back to good condition

A few of the ones I have/had:

Yardsalesaws005.jpg

Had some hand saws too:

Yardsalesaws006.jpg

And some bow saws:

Yardsalesaws007.jpg

Yardsalesaws008.jpg

Crosscut saws are no substitute for chainsaws when cutting up firewood, but if I'm doing trail work or some other long hike/long haul to clear a specific tree, I'll almost always take a crosscut. The few extra minutes I spend crosscut sawing are nothing compared to the time spent getting to the tree and the weight of all that chainsaw gear I get to leave behind.

Ive been picking up crosscuts for about 3 years now when i see them at yard sales and junk shops.
Got a nice little collection going.
NOS Curtis One man
A couple Disston Two Man
A few Warranteed Superior Two man

Ive been using Household 3 in 1 oil for some light derusting of a few of the blades....
Anyone have better ideas for bringing these blades back to good condition

I was told to use oven cleaning brick from a cooking store.