Firewood storage

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Is it a good idea to store firewood inside? I just bought a house in the country and would like to store my firewood in the corn crib. Is there anything I could spray to keep insects from destroying the crib?

My opinion would be no! I only store wood in the basement during the winter and only a couple days worth.(burn 8 cords a year) I wouldn't be worried about the corn crib but the rest of your house. As for spraying I'm not an expert but in my limited experience, anything that kills bugs, kills you, and would not be something I would have near my wood or in a fire(umm, that smells nice??) As always my humble opinion and I will defer to any of the more experienced here who may have knowledge of some safe stuff out there.

I've had a fireplace in the past, don't have one now (Yes, they DO have fireplaces in FL!). I tried keeping firewood in the small holder near the fireplace and found it wasn't a good idea. Almost all seasoned wood will have critters of some sort under the bark or in the wood. As Newfie said, I ended up only bringing in enough for a day or two when I was going to have a fire.
Pesticides on firewood is not a good idea, either. The smell of burning poison isn't quite the same as burning clean wood.

Rain won't necessarily mess up firewood, surface moisture dries off quickly when you start your fire. I have always recommended keeping firewood outside,uncovered, usually at least 3-5 feet away from the house. Not stacked against it. Don't cover it with plastic or a tarp, that will contain moisture and not let the sun and air dry out the wood. Under a lean-to or in a shed is the best, as long as there is plenty of airflow to let it dry out.

Last edited: