HELP! Now what?!?!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffTheTreeGuy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Howdy Everyone,

I'll try to make this short, however, I want you to understand where I'm coming from. I am currently a high school biology teacher. I can't stand it. My passion for teaching and coaching has been decreasing for the last few years. There are many reasons why, I don't want to bore you with that. I've been running saws and splitting, stacking, and burning firewood my whole life. My passion has always been felling trees, the firewood process, and I've recently done some milling with my saws. I've worked some days in the summer with a tree service guy to learn and see the overall operation.

I purchased climbing equipment and have done a bunch of solo work. I have 2 rear handle saws (032 & 291) and a climbing saw (201t). I sold my car and did some tree work for pickup truck. The truck is getting tuned up now. My plan is to start my own tree service business soon! And when it's time, I'll leave education. So, my current equipment is: A pickup truck, climbing equipment, 3 saws, a pole saw, rakes, blower, and hand trucks.

What should be my next purchase? Thank you!

I would say a chipper, as taking down the tree is about half the battle.... the clean up work is where most either stand out, or dont get called back. That's kinda hard to do without a chipper and stump grinder... chipper would take priority in my mind.

All of the above. And you'll need to recruit good help. A solo guy--it's how I started--is hardly efficient on his own. You'll need at least one good person on the ground.

I would say a chipper, as taking down the tree is about half the battle.... the clean up work is where most either stand out, or dont get called back. That's kinda hard to do without a chipper and stump grinder... chipper would take priority in my mind.