Husky 565 vs 365, innitial impressions.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Exophysical

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been running a 365 X-torq as my main saw for 12 years now, still bone stock which seems to be something of an irregularity. This spring I found a good deal deal on a new 565 and picked it up, after putting a few tanks of fuel through it I figured I'd give a comparison.

I'll answer the usual "Why not a 72?" question, cause I know its coming. First off is that in Canada, when I got my 365 the savings were fairly substantial. That has changed for the X-torqs, but the 565 ended up about $300 cheaper than either '72 model. The second is that I'm convinced the down tuned 70cc saws last longer and tend to be easyer on chain/ bars. The two main expenses I want to overcome when heating with wood are the cost of the saw, and truck fuel. I want a saw that will last as many years as possible, and I dont want to go home with a half full truck because of equipment problems. IMO theres a darn good reason that every generation of the Husky 65 has earned a good reputation as a firewood saw, and I cant see any reason the 565 will be any different.

The work I've done with the 565 was turning a mix of green 12-20" birch/ poplar into firewood, some frozen some not, which is my typical use. The 565 is running a 28" bar and skip tooth vs the 365's 20/ full comp, and the 565 isnt broken in while the 365 is. Even with the differences the 565 has a broader powerband, better low end torque, and better throttle response. I'm not implying its snappy like a current XP saw, but it beats the XT version. Having run a few over the years, my general impression is that its similar to a stock 372 XT.