log splitter lift

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ironhead

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I'm a new member and this is my first attempt at a post. I've been checking out the site for about a month now and enjoy all of the information. After reading the posts on the log splitter lifts i decided to put one on my splitter. Thought i would share the process and maybe get some feedback ,good or bad.A little back ground on my splitter. I built it in 1989 after reading a couple books on building logsplitters, one from northern and another small paperback that i bought somewhere. It has a 10hp briggs & stratton coupled to a 22gpm barnes two stage. A 5" x 24" cylinder and a cross 2 way detent valve. I made the lift from materials that i had in the garage and i 'm going to try and put pictures in post so you can see the build in progress.I went with a 3"x 8' cylinder on the lift hoping to slow it down some. I was thinking that a 2' might be to fast to control. I called northern a couple days and ordered a selector valve so i will be able to run the splitter and lift off the same detent valve. It should be here today and i can start plumbing the lift today and hope to have it working this weekend.

Is there a particular reason you used flange bearings instead of pillow block bearings? seems like you could have just bolted them on instead of having to make mounts.

DDM said:
Is there a particular reason you used flange bearings instead of pillow block bearings? seems like you could have just bolted them on instead of having to make mounts.
They were free. I happened to have a few sets in the garage.

it looks like you have a good start. i am planning to build a lift on the splitter i'm building, so feel free to post more pictures i could use the help.

You may need separate valves