ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


McCulloch Mini and Small CC Chainsaw's

Discussion in 'Chainsaw Stickies' started by Overtrained, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. dynodave

    dynodave equal opportunity gearhead

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Hamilton Mass USA
    Well all I need is the manual oil pump rod spring to show up and I should be ready to go.
    Here is the pix of the saw dust shield I made:
    MMclutch 001.jpg MMclutch 002.jpg MMclutch 003.jpg
    Without the shield it totally filled the insides of the cases. We shall see how effective it is.
     
    fossil, grizz55chev and bikemike like this.
  2. heimannm

    heimannm Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,488
    Likes Received:
    8,434
    Location:
    Dike, Iowa
  3. Maintenance supervisor

    Maintenance supervisor Every 100yrs, All new people...

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Some gave me a 3200 mac, fuel line was disconnected runs good.
    No perception of oil though? I know there's an oil line,hows it snake through the saw?
     
  4. heimannm

    heimannm Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,488
    Likes Received:
    8,434
    Location:
    Dike, Iowa
    Pull the starter/flywheel cover, most likely the line between the oil tank and the pump has failed.

    Mark
     
  5. PogoInTheWoods

    PogoInTheWoods Don't forget about the alligators...

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    3,276
    Location:
    Reportedly in the Area
    The trigger parts should stay in the main housing part of the handle if you're careful. There's also a screw on the opposite side of the saw below the clutch that needs removed to separate the housings.
     
    Wood Doctor likes this.
  6. Maintenance supervisor

    Maintenance supervisor Every 100yrs, All new people...

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    South Carolina
  7. Brian Thacker

    Brian Thacker ArboristSite Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    738
    Location:
    Northeast Tennessee
    I have a 510 and it is a good saw. Usually just needs the carb cleaned and they will go.

    Brian
     
  8. Bushnerd

    Bushnerd ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey there,

    I'm wanting to do a pressure and vacuum test on a Pro Mac 510. I've blocked off the exhaust port and the carb port with rubber and am ready to test, but where is the impulse line?

    Thanks
    Bill
     
  9. heimannm

    heimannm Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,488
    Likes Received:
    8,434
    Location:
    Dike, Iowa
    The impulse signal on that model comes through the flange where the carburetor mounts. You will need to make an adapter to fit the spark plug hole or the carburetor mount in order to pressure and vacuum test the crankcase.

    Mark
     
    Brian Thacker likes this.
  10. Bushnerd

    Bushnerd ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Mark, I'll see what I can come up with.
     
  11. Bushnerd

    Bushnerd ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Or I'll just buy an adapter for the spark plug hole.
     
  12. Bushnerd

    Bushnerd ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    When changing a felt gas tank filter on a PM510 or SP40 the new filter is square, so do you just stuff it into position in the tank, fill the tank with a bit of gas and let it expand?
     
  13. heimannm

    heimannm Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,488
    Likes Received:
    8,434
    Location:
    Dike, Iowa
    Yes
     
    Bushnerd likes this.
  14. Bushnerd

    Bushnerd ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    So on a Pro Mac 510, there's 2 Bearing Sleeve Assemblies (93763) that encase the Needle Bearing (213282) and Oil Seal (83859). When rebuilding the top end should these all be replaced? Can it be disassembled somehow?
    bearing.jpg

    Thanks
    Bill
     
  15. heimannm

    heimannm Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,488
    Likes Received:
    8,434
    Location:
    Dike, Iowa
    It is certainly possible to press the bearings and seals out and press new ones in, the 70cc and larger 10 Series all have a similar set up on the PTO side.

    I made some special tooling to help me when pressing the seal/bearing out and again when pressing them back in place on the 10 Series saws. I did find it necessary to make a special arbor to fit the I.D. of the bearing very precisely to prevent it from collapsing the housing every so slightly causing the bearing to run out of true and try to move laterally on the shaft.

    You may be able to just pop the seals out and replace them, always a good idea on an older saw and avoids disturbing the bearing. The bearings are pretty reliable as long as they have not been subjected to moisture and rusting.

    Mark
     
  16. Bushnerd

    Bushnerd ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Mark, I think I'll take your advice and just try to pop out the seals and replace them. I have two ordered.
     
  17. gjones8131

    gjones8131 ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New England
    Hi Folks. I am looking for a new crankshaft for a PowerMac 6...If anyone has one or a parts saw please let me know :)

    Managed to strip mine just when I was getting this old unit finally working well
     

Share This Page