New to milling and need help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dale M

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys I’m totally new to the milling part of saws.
I bought a little 24 inch Mill from a guy. I have a husky 372 xp with a 24 inch bar and chain.
It’s just a normal chain Not a ripping chain.
Question is can I just grind down every second tooth with my Oregon electric sharpener and use that chain.?
I’m only playing around and I know I’m going to be limited to about 18inch logs and that’s fine, I just want to slice a few boards to about 1” thick slabs and they only need to be about 4 feet long. The trees are all
Pine and spruce and are green.

I dont bother with ripping chain either. You get a little more chain mark in the cut but it works for me. Just keep the chain sharp and let the saw do the cutting. Dont need to dog the crud out of it.

395xp lately but at times I still use my 7910 Dolmar .Just standard chains I do have a skip 36" but haven't used it yet because I'm basically lazy and hate changing chains out. Never purchased a ripping chain because even though my cuts come out rougher I'm going to plane it anyway.

Im only relatively new to milling myself.

I used a standard crosscut chain to start with and have slowly brought the angle around to 10*. To be truthful i dont think it matters too much. What does need to be done for slabbing is the rakers need to be filed down heaps otherwise youll just make dust.

The 372 is a little on the small side. Give it a break every few minutes. My 395 spends as much time having a breather as it is cutting, but then im cutting some decent hardwood.

Pine and Spruce you have plenty with a 20" up to 24" cut with a 70cc, if you feel you don't you're doing something wrong.