• ArboristSite has decided that due to the abusive interactions users are having with each other in the political forum, we will no longer be providing a place to talk politics on this forum. Any political posts will be deleted once discovered or reported to us. We are sorry for this inconvenience.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
www.harvesterbars.com


IJWallace

IJWallace

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
7
Age
18
Location
United Kingdom
Hi,
I bought a Sachs Dolmar 116 online, it started and ran. I stripped it down cleaned it and reassembled and now I can't get a spark.
I checked and the spark plug is fine, I've checked the gap on the coil and that's set but still nothing. i didn't clean the ignition coil with any harsh chemicals so i don't see why it would be damaged.

Can anyone help?
Thanks
 
lone wolf

lone wolf

MS 200T King
Joined
Oct 5, 2009
Messages
57,721
Location
Prowling The Pine Barrens
Hi,
I bought a Sachs Dolmar 116 online, it started and ran. I stripped it down cleaned it and reassembled and now I can't get a spark.
I checked and the spark plug is fine, I've checked the gap on the coil and that's set but still nothing. i didn't clean the ignition coil with any harsh chemicals so i don't see why it would be damaged.

Can anyone help?
Thanks
Try disconnecting the kill switch wires and see what happens. Look at it in a darker area.
 
turkeybob

turkeybob

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
19
Age
62
Location
Cheshire, UK
Check the coil ht cable, it screws into the coil, take it out and wd40 inside, check inside the plug cap boot, has a little wire connector that pushes into the cable to get contact with the copper core inside. Another one is to put the coil in the oven for a while, sometimes they get damp inside and this revives them. If all else fails buy a Chinese copy coil off ebay, about £15, I've had a few and all have worked fine.
 
IJWallace

IJWallace

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
7
Age
18
Location
United Kingdom
Check the coil ht cable, it screws into the coil, take it out and wd40 inside, check inside the plug cap boot, has a little wire connector that pushes into the cable to get contact with the copper core inside. Another one is to put the coil in the oven for a while, sometimes they get damp inside and this revives them. If all else fails buy a Chinese copy coil off ebay, about £15, I've had a few and all have worked fine.
I've only just seen this sorry, just tried all that you said so I'm fearing the worst, all the Chinese coils don't actually look the same they only have one "arm" instead of two. ill try one out and see if it works
 
turkeybob

turkeybob

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
19
Age
62
Location
Cheshire, UK
I've only just seen this sorry, just tried all that you said so I'm fearing the worst, all the Chinese coils don't actually look the same they only have one "arm" instead of two. ill try one out and see if it works
No problem with the one leg, all the later ones have one leg anyway, I get mine via the bay, if you put in the item number 323808252152 you will see a supplier that I use, up till now with about 10 so far without issue! I suppose there's always a first! Just cut the wire from the on off switch ( just check continuity first as these cables can give hassle) fit a spade terminal to the wire, connect to the single wire on coil and hopefully there she blows,, I even relieve the alloy a little where coil sits which allows you to advance timing a little, which gives it some more advance and it little bit more zip!, if you were stuck I can lend you one as I see you're in Cheshire, might save you some hassle to try it first, I have just ordered some more as I'm down to my last one. Just let me know. Bob
 
IJWallace

IJWallace

ArboristSite Lurker
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
7
Age
18
Location
United Kingdom
No problem with the one leg, all the later ones have one leg anyway, I get mine via the bay, if you put in the item number 323808252152 you will see a supplier that I use, up till now with about 10 so far without issue! I suppose there's always a first! Just cut the wire from the on off switch ( just check continuity first as these cables can give hassle) fit a spade terminal to the wire, connect to the single wire on coil and hopefully there she blows,, I even relieve the alloy a little where coil sits which allows you to advance timing a little, which gives it some more advance and it little bit more zip!, if you were stuck I can lend you one as I see you're in Cheshire, might save you some hassle to try it first, I have just ordered some more as I'm down to my last one. Just let me know. Bob
Thanks for the offer but I'm in Suffolk not sure why it says Cheshire. Ive asked an eBay seller they said if it does not work they'll accept a return so ill try that out. Thanks
 
Top