Hydraulic fluid diffusing through hose?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreePointer

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have hydraulic fluid diffusing THROUGH the return hose on my Huskee 35-ton. It runs the entire length of the hose, but not the very ends, and I see no leak from the hose clamp.

It has the original original TSC hydraulic fluid in the system and the hose is original, too. I last used the machine about 3 months ago and it has always been stored indoors (almost always in a 60°F+ garage). By accident, I did leave the garage door open last night and the outside temperature was in the 30's, but I once stored it in a 30°F barn for a week last year and never had this occur. What causes this? Just cheap crappy hose that needs to be replaced?

LeakyHydroHose02.jpg

LeakyHydroHose01.jpg

Last edited:
I'm no expert on hydraulics but that can't be right. I think I'd take that machine (or at least the hose) back to TSC and show them. Clearly someone used the wrong type or inferior quality hose when the unit was assembled. What's really scary is wondering what they used on the pressure side? I'm sure you are aware of the dangers of high pressure hydraulic fluid and how now you have to ask yourself can you trust anything about the factory plumbing? I'd push to have them replace all of the hydraulic hoses on your machine for your safety and peace of mind.

Be safe!

JN

It almost sounds like they ran out of quality hydraulic hose during assembly and used heater hose instead. I still think you are not being unreasonable to ask them to replace it. Also, if the hose is deteriorating is there a possibility it is coming apart into the fluid? Good thing there is a filter downstream of it.

JN