Some questions from a beginner - advice on my Stihl 044

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
pauster

pauster

ArboristSite Lurker
Hi all,

as posted in the milling forum I took the leap (plunge ?) and bought myself a used Stihl 044 which now should be in the mail (knock on wood)

Since the only chainsaw I had so far was a 16" McCullogh electric which is toast after exceeding it's abilities I had to upgrade - but I am new to real chainsaws and have a lot of questions ...

1) which 2-cycle oil :)pumpkin2: just kidding - this seems an unpopular question - I bought the Stihl stuff from my local dealer)

2) manual - I found the Stihl 044 manual online, read it. will read it two more times before I fire up the saw

3) PPE - I bought the Stihl helmet/ear muff/face shield thing. Will use it with safety glasses and dust mask. Chaps will follow as soon as I use the saw more often.

Now to the questions:

- bar oil - I have a big jug of bar oil from Lowes - is that "regular" stuff good enough for a serious saw ?

- sharpening the chain - primarily for ripping / milling - will the dremel attachment which I have already do ? any other recommendations ?

- anything I need to think of or check before/when I fire her up for the first time ?

Thanks all

Patrick

SawTroll

SawTroll

Information Collector
3) PPE - I bought the Stihl helmet/ear muff/face shield thing. Will use it with safety glasses and dust mask. Chaps will follow as soon as I use the saw more often.

Chaps or protective trosers is more important than anything else.
- sharpening the chain - primarily for ripping / milling - will the dremel attachment which I have already do ? any other recommendations ?

Files are quite a bit better, just start practising.........:yoyo: :yoyo:

computeruser

computeruser

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Welcome to the site! In response to your questions: