Buying a MS 260 Pro Tomorrow

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hawkfeather

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Well, the gas prices here in North Central Pennsylvania are going so high, we are forced to start burning wood. I guess I would like opinions from some of you nice folks on here about my saw choice. I have had a Poulan Pro 18" Model 260 42cc saw for the last 10 years or so. It has been used as a camp wood saw and for trim work at home and some minor clearing work. It has been a good saw, but I want one that is better since I will be cutting a LOT of firewood for a long time. I studied long and hard and read a lot of reviews and decided to buy the Stihl MS 260 Pro and use the Poulan as a back up and second saw. The Stihl that I have my eyes on has the 20" bar with a .325 chain. Some of my reasons for choosing this saw (Other than my father-in-law and brother in law making fun of my Poulan for so long since they are die hard Stihl users at home and at work, LOL!) I have a medical condition that makes it necessary that I have a little lighter saw than normal, I want one that will last a long time with minor maintenance, I need a bit more reach than the 18" like on the Poulan, and I need enough power to be able to cut plenty of firewood with ease. Did I make the right choice? Should I ask the dealer to throw in anything on the deal, or are Stihl dealers funny about that? Any opinions will be greatly appreciated. BTW this is my first post so I say a big HOWDY to all of you fine folks from this ex-Texan turned Pennsylvanian!