Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshua Tabora

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I was holding out for a Husqvarna 3120 or a Stihl 880 for a while, but I've decided that the money just isn't there right now for a new powerhead. I'm trying to resurrect my Stihl 075 that failed while running an Alaskan mill. I didn't catch an airleak, and ended up scoring the OEM piston and cylinder. The saw still holds compression (less than 120 PSI) , and starts but I haven't tried to run it since I discovered the damage. I have some experience cleaning cylinders of aluminum transfer, and I still might try to salvage the OEM cylinder, but I don't want to risk having to work on the saw yet again and I've decided to try a complete rebuild.
I have a Cross Performance top end kit on the way, the HL supply gasket kit for the 075/076/TS760, a Tecomec crankshaft, new crank bearings, a new wrist pin needle bearing, and a Hutzl crank splitter on the way. I'm expecting to have everything within two weeks. I know many of these parts may be overkill, but I've had this saw apart too many times and the breakdowns have really put a dent into my milling morale and productivity. If I get into the saw and find that the OEM crank and bearings are ok, then hopefully I can just return the surplus aftermarket parts.