3 small random questions-any advice appreciated

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dblack

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Okay guys, I have three questions I need some discussion or answers on. I have searched the forums and didn't see anything.

First, what grease gun is everyone using? I have gone through 3 grease guns in the last year and I only work 1-2 days a week(I am a student the other part of the time). I grease our 252 every 2 hours like the manual says and our bc1000 every 5 hours. I literally have a box of non working grease guns at my house. Either the piston in the handle breaks or the spring stops feeding the grease forwards. I need a manual one (not a battery powered) that is reliable because I hate getting to jobs and not being able to work because of a stinkin unreliable grease gun.

Second, what brand of plastic wedges is everyone using? I have been using the Stihl ones in the past but find that they are kind of brittle, especially in cold weather. What is everyone using for felling trees?

Third, and even more random question. For chippers, grinders, and chip trucks...how often do you all wash those machines? I have a truck right now that hasn't been washed in two years. I know it won't fit through the carwash and I am nervous to use a power washer (which I normally use on equipment). I know washing equipment every month or couple months helps to keep the value of it up some if I got to upgrade. Is there people who specialize in washing heavy equipment or should I just plan to spend a whole afternoon scrubbing these things from top to bottom?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.