4" Ridgid Faceplate.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dustytools

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
My wife and I stopped at one of those traveling tool sales that come through here once a year or so. While browsing around I found this faceplate that would thread up to my old Craftsman lathe and thought for $8 why not try it out. Ive never turnrd a bowl or platter before but Im now one step closer. Any do's or dont's that I should know about before I dive in. Ive turned several spindles before but never a bowl or platter. Thanks,Terry.

I'm new to it, but I've been having a lot of fun for the past couple months with turning. Bowls are very different than spindles; I can do bowls fine but I really don't know how to use spindle tools very well. Don't use a spindle gouge on a bowl. Because the angles are really very different, and the flutes are much much deeper on a bowl gouge, spindle gouges can catch badly. Keep your gouges sharp! Do you already have a grinding jig for sharpening?? Check out this site for some homemade sharpening jigs:
http://www.woodturningonline.com/Turning/Turning_articles.html#sharpening

I broke down and bought a $45 oneway varigrind jig, but I did make my own "wolverine" style jig like this one from fine woodworking:
http://www.taunton.com/finewoodworking/pdf/ShopBuiltJig.pdf

Also, I bought a chuck, so I can do some dovetail recesses and reverse mount the bowl to turn the foot flat, like this:

attachment.php