550XP Oil Problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arb15

Reaction score
I've been chasing this problem for a while on the 2012 saw - purchased in 2013.
Most of the (Jonsered) bar oil now runs behind the bar and out the bottom, but it worked for a few months when new. The chain gets oil, but only a mist comes off the sprocket end when the pump is set for max flow. I noticed the bar tip getting hot when cutting and haven't been able to use the saw since.

I cleaned everything.
I replaced the pump and hose, carefully sealed where the pump seats in the hose assembly and where it enters the oil reservoir with silicone gasket material. That was successful and those areas do not leak.
The bar is a new OEM and the chain is Oregon 20LPX066G.
The hose opening covers the oil hole on the bar.
I tried placing a rubber shim behind the hose to force it against the bar, but that didn't help.

I derailed the chain once by getting a small branch under it. Replaced the bar and chain when that happened, but other than that, it's been taken care of.

Has anyone else had this problem?

Sunfish nailed it - what bar are you using? Are you sure the hole is clean and the rails are clean?

I had a similar problem when I first got my 550. I finally discovered that it was a little bit of fine sawdust that got behind the oil hose outlet. Once I cleaned that out, all was OK. I would remove that shim you put in there - all you're doing is compressing the rubber on the oil hose outlet. It is unnecessary and could cause problems in the future.

I use only 20LPX chain on the 550 and I splurged on 16" and 18" Sugihara bars from Randy and Henry (site sponsors). I much prefer them to the OEM Norwegian bars.

If its throwing a mist you're good
About 2/3 of the oil is escaping between the oil hose and the bar - running back over the pump and out the bottom. Makes a mess immediately.