6" or chuck and duck?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aldegar

www.gigharborbigfoot.com
Reaction score
I recently picked up a nice one ton dump to replace my old flatbed I was slashing with. I will be buying a chipper shortly. I can only afford a chuck and duck or a 6" and want something light to tow and respectable looking. I know it's been asked before but I have no personal experience with either of these types. I am currently only running a business on saturdays and have absolutely no mechanical knowledge other than keeping them greased and flipping the knives. I need something that won't break down and will keep me going until I am more established and can afford a better machine.

I think a 6" would be fine as long as get all that brush 6"less chipped it's like packing peanuts amongst logs, otherwise it takes a lot of space. I chip into this w/something that size and load logs.IMAG0106.jpg

Grab a cheap chuck and duck until you have enough dough for a bigger unit. The six inchers I've used feed really slow and have a small throat. Those little 20 horsers are pricey when (not if) they blow up. The chuck and ducks get a pretty bad rap here but they are cheap to buy and maintain. Parts are cheap and nearly everything on the motor is in stock at most parts stores. As long as you have a guy feeding it properly, who isn't scared of it, it will destroy some brush in a hurry.

I like the idea of chipping fast and understand that you got to dip out when you throw something into a chuck and duck. In order to build the reputation I'm after I need something that looks really nice, most the 6" looks really nice and I like how they are quiet. I read something about how you could make them faster by modding the feed control?

Just because it's a chuck and duck doesn't mean it has to be an ugly s#it box. Here's one of mine.

image.jpg