A little advice... 066 red light trade

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrethegiant70

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I'm lurking around on AS after years of being away... with the aftermarket parts boom of the last 10 years and all the new models out on the market, I'm a little behind the knowledge curve. I'm a newbie again!

Well, I'll start out by saying I don't know much about 066s. I bought this saw as a non-runner in the mid-2000s. It was my first 066 and I was intending to rebuild it as my main milling saw, since my 2100 was getting a bit hard to find parts for, at least at that time. I ended up thinking it was maybe a sticky wicket for an 066 neophyte, especially since milling saws generally need to be torn down more often. Log story short, I set it aside and ended up using 288s, 394s, and an 046 for milling, and completely forgot about it. So there is sits and I know diddly squat about it.

It also occurs to me that an original, dual-port muffler red light might have some intrinsic value to a collector type and, as a guy who likes to have a few dozen saws in the shop, I'd like to be sensitive to that.

What I'd like to do on trading post is trade is trade it, 066 for 066, for a more recent model with a more straightforward parts availability. I just don't really know what a good trade is on this saw.

Thoughts?

Fair enough.... that looks easier than it used to be, looking at this little dashboard here. I'll post some pics this eve when I get off work.

That's a pretty decent looking old saw...it could be fixed up as a nice runner from the looks of it. Do you know how the internals are? The red-light saws were fine runners and even more so after ditching the rev-limited coil. I used to build hotrods with those using an 064 flywheel, starter, and ignition back in the day.

Two things: