A Request From An Urban Forester

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Husky288XP

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Can you post some pictures of you guys wedging over trees with a slight lean, to show how you over came a lean with just wedges?

Ryan,

I'm a little unclear from the photos. Did you make a bore cut, pound the wedges into both sides of the bore, and then release the strap to let the tree go?

Thanks

thats how I do 95% of all my trees. Bore it, wedge it then cut the strap.

Thanks Jim. I've never tried that before. I am more likely to use ropes than wedges most of the time, but I'm interested in learning more about using wedges when felling. I figure the more techniques I know, the better.

If "release the strap to let the tree go" was not accompanied by further (aggressively) driving any or all of the wedges then it wasn't a case of "over came a lean with just wedges".

I don't consider a lean being "overcome" until the lean is between the range of 90°-270° (exclusive) from the direction of fall.  It's not uncommon in such cases to have very many wedges in the back cut (more so as the direction of fall approaches 180° from the direction of lean), with instances of them being stacked to generate the lift necessary to get the tree over-center.  The force sometimes necessary to accomplish the task requires the back cut to be, while horizontal (level) along the horizontal (level) hinge, perpendicular to the stem in in the direction perpendicular to the hinge, even if that means the cut will not be horizontal (level) in that direction.  If anyone disagrees with that statement, trust me when I say it's no fun (at best!) to have the tree separate along the growth rings on the side (top or bottom, actually) of the cut forming an acute angle to the grain as a result of the wedge pressure.

Glen