An interesting new approach to safer chainsaw usage - The Branchsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joseph Dedic

Reaction score
Hello,

I am an currently and MBA student with the University of Northern Iowa, seeking to attract interest in a local inventor's business, Pachyderm Industries. His product is the Branchsaw, which I am including a picture of in this post.

This is a chain saw that can grasp onto branches, and be operated remotely from the ground. Our intent on this site is to seek general feedback, interest and ideas in the saw. Please let me know if anyone would like more information, I would be glad to answer any and all questions, as well as put you into contact with the inventor himself. I am not trying to solicit anything other than opinions from experienced arborists!

Thank you,
DSC_0088.JPGDSC_0072.JPG

in the tree, out of the tree, or a pinch..... Is it a drone, hovercraft ?? Looks as if a climber has to set it, move it, tend it ,etc etc... Interesting, yet baffling...
That’s pretty much what I was getting at. There isn’t a scenario that I can see hauling that up over my top handle.

We need to see video of it in operation. What keeps the tool from flying / flinging off once the severed branch drops away?

Looks like a manual version of the Sennebogen articulated, boom saw.

Philbert

An interesting idea. For feedback, we live in a time-is-money world. So--

1. How does it get into working position? How much time does it take to get it there?