Another Porty Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tree md

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I got another question about the Port-a-Wrap. How big of a piece of wood have you lowered on it?

To tell the truth I have limited experience with them. I have used them working with subs but I still use wraps on a tree myself. It's really a trust thing with me. I just don't have a lot of faith in the portys. Not that I don't think it can handle big pieces, I just trust what I am experienced at more. Another thing is I am not on the ground to supervise things which I would ideally be when trying out a new piece of equipment. Personally, 2500-3000 pounds is about as heavy as I like to go when blocking chunks unless I can tip tie them where there is not a lot of shock.

Just curious about how big of pieces you guys are taking with the portys...

The weak link will always be the cordage in the system, I've snapped rope and had no damage to the porty. The azaleas were a bit worse for wear...

I have 3 different size portys.....4 including old school. I agree that it likely would not be the weak link in the system whichever choice for related application.

We started a job Friday and used Le Friction (our French slang for "the Porty") and it worked perfectly. Nothing too heavy, a few 200lb pieces of Spruce, but the tree was right inside their stone patio\walkway and we couldn't risk any damage.

Heaviest piece? Maybe 2000lb. Used it to lower the trunk of a broken and leaning poplar that was right over a fence. We tied off the tree and lowered it to within a foot of the fence and then sliced and diced with no damage done. Great stuff. :)

I got another question about the Port-a-Wrap. How big of a piece of wood have you lowered on it?