Another YouTube "How to" video

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metals406

Granfodder Runningsaw
Reaction score
I really like Cody, and believe he's well intentioned -- but he shouldn't be making instructional videos for timber felling.

Not only does he not fully understand what he's doing, but he actually does things that are incorrect, as well as giving broad generalities and leaves out important information.

I don't make "How to do leg surgery" videos, just because I have a slight grasp of what's going on. :msp_rolleyes:

Someone might actually watch my leg surgery video, and try to do it themselves. Perhaps because I led them to believe I was a competent professional in many areas, so why not that too?

He begins the description with "Are you doing it right?" :laugh:

No disclaimer whatsoever, no warnings. . .

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/M_3CZ6fCelc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

What is it with guys notching a tree 2' up the bole? I can understand it if the bottom is really ugly or there's wire, but the strongest fiber in the tree is right at the very base....cutting up high puts you into wood that can more easily break free unexpectedly....

And if that fir is 600 years old I am 900 years old.

No mention of side lean or gunning corrections, unintentional kerf Dutchman, leading people to believe a tree will go "Where the line on the saw" is pointing.

The problem here is, Cody doesn't know why he's doing what he's doing!

He's miming things he's been shown, seen on videos, learned on a fire, or gleaned from another source.

He doesn't comprehend stump shot (his is all over the place), he didn't recognize the danger of a Dutched kerf, obviously left too wide a hinge and wedged a tree that didn't need wedging -- and isn't versed in the mechanics of the steps he's "teaching".